Newry City Over 40s 2 – Banbridge Town Over 40s 0

Newry City over 40s played Banbridge over 40s in a charity match for the NSPCC last night at Cheney Park. The game was played in great spirit with many players attempting to roll back the years.

Banbridge started the game well and tested Joe Price with a few early efforts. Tommy O’Hanlon then had a great 25 yard drive saved by the Banbridge keeper before hitting the post with another great effort. Newrys defence were working hard to shut down the Banbridge attack with Tommy Gray marshalling them well. Dessie Edgar was attacking at every opportunity and linking well with Damien Grant on the right hand side. John White and Michael Crowe were also linking well on the left but were unable to break a resolute Banbridge defence. The half finished goalless with a few tired legs glad to see the break.

Newry broke the deadlock 10 minutes into the second half when Darren Mullen fired home after a great through ball from Grant. Banbridge tried to hit Newry on the break but Newry’s midfield of Craven, Griffin, Mullen and O’Hanlon were dictating the play. Newry Legend Ollie Ralph was giving the Banbridge defence plenty of problems – his movement a lesson to any young player. The second goal came following great work from Larry Griffin and Dessie Edgar on the right
hand side when Tommy O’Hanlon curled a great effort into the far corner. Banbridge were now pushing forward in numbers with Price pulling off some great saves. Terrance Feehan then made a great saving tackle to prevent his brother Billy pulling a goal back. Newry had a further chances to increase their lead with Keith Kelly and Jervis McCaul failing to beat the Banbridge keeper.

The game finished 2 0 to Newry with Tommy Gray awarded the man of the match award. This was a very entertaining game and a chance for old playing colleagues to meet up for plenty of craic. This will be the first of several over 40s games with the next game to be played in The Showgrounds whenever all the aches and pains have cleared up.

Newry squad: Joe Price, Dessie Edgar, Terrance Feehan, Tommy Gray,John White, Damien Grant, Larry Griffin, Tommy O’Hanlon, Michael Crowe, Ollie Ralph (captain), Dixie Craven, Darren Mullen, Keith Kelly, Jervis McCaul, Billy Feehan.